Close

School Community Council (SCC)

Parents

NAME PHONE EMAIL
Dr. Barbara Dahl Fassl  (Chair) 801 755-3071 dahlbarbara@yahoo.com
Lisa Johnson 801 403-9323 lisa.johnson1323@gmail.com
Annmarie Daw 801 276-0888 annmariedaw@gmail.com
Nancy Chisholm 801 556-8865 twocpas2@msn.com
Tara Downing 801 707-3135 taraldowning@google.com
Aimee Burrows 801 694-0829 aimeebees@gmail.com
Elizabeth Saltsman  801 824-2236 liziesaltsman@gmail.com
Debra Baskin 801 583-1205 debbiebaskin@gmail.com
Rebecca Fredrick 801 520-5114  rebecca.fredrick@comcast.net
Jennifer Parkin 281 814-8991  jenniferhparkin@hotmail.com
Emily Froerer  801 699-3579 Emilybfroerer@yahoo.com
Miriam Jenson 801 232-6232 miriamjenson@gmail.com
Niki Evans 801 808-5910 johnandniki@hotmail.com
Missy Bergstedt 801-856-0141 melissabergstedt@yahoo.com

 

Staff

NAME PHONE EMAIL
Mary Eckersley 801 584-2908 mary.eckersley@slcschools.org
Earl Arnoldson (Principal) 801 584-2908 earl.arnoldson@slcschools.org
Roshawn Starr 801 584-2908 roshawn.starr@slcschools.org
Mary Mahoney   801 584-2908 mary.mahoney@slcschools.org
Anne Melville    801 584-2908 ann.melville@slcschools.org
Stephanie Kinneberg   801 584-2908 stephanie.kinneberg@slcschools.org
Melissa Ford   melissa.ford@slcschools.org
Pam Capson 801 584-2908 pam.capson@slcschools.org
Tracy Heise 801 584-2908 tracy.heise@slcschools.org
 

Rules of Order and Procedure  

To promote ethical behavior and civil discourse each council member shall:

  • Attend council meetings on time and prepared
  • Make decisions with the needs of students as the main objective
  • Listen to and value diverse opinions
  • Be sure the opinions of those you represent are included in discussions
  • Expect accountability and be prepared to be accountable
  • Act with integrity

 

Rules of Procedure:

All meetings are open to the public and the public is welcome to attend.

The agenda of each upcoming meeting with draft minutes of the prior meeting will be made available to all council members at least one week in advance, will be posted on the school website and made available in the main office.  The agenda will include the date, time and location of the meeting.

Minutes will be kept of all meetings, prepared in draft format for approval at the next scheduled meeting.

The council will prepare a timeline for the school year that includes due dates for all required reporting and other activities/tasks that the council agrees to assume or participate in.  The timeline will assist in preparation of agendas to be sure the council accomplishes their work in a timely manner.

The chair conducts the meetings, makes assignments and requests reports on assignments.  In the absence of the chair the vice-chair shall conduct meetings.

Meetings shall be conducted and action taken according to very simplified rules of parliamentary procedure as required in 53A-1a-108.1(9)(i).  Items on the agenda take priority over other discussions coming before the council.  Council action will be taken by motions and voting with votes and motions recorded in the minutes.

A motion (or an action to be taken by the council) is stated as a motion.  Someone else on the council “seconds” the motion indicating that at least one other person on the council feels the motion is worthy of discussion.  Then the council members may provide input and discussion as called upon by the chair.  When discussion seems complete the chair may call for a vote on the motion.  Or when a member of the council “calls the previous question” (a motion to end discussion of the first motion), a second is required and then, without discussion the chair calls for a vote that must pass by 2/3.  If the vote on the previous question fails the council goes back to discussing the first motion.  If the motion to call the previous question passes, the chair directly calls for a vote on the first motion.  A vote to call the previous question is usually used to move business along.

Attached is a chart that could be used if the council feels they would like to use additional motions of Parliamentary Procedure in their meetings. 

Simple Motions of Parliamentary Procedure

 

School Community Council Meetings 2016 - 2017

Meeting Date Agendas Minutes
September 14, 2016 English English
October 12, 2016 English English
November 09, 2016 English English
December 14, 2016 (Cancelled)
January 11, 2017 English English
February 08, 2017 English
March 08, 2017
April 19, 2017
May 10, 2017

© Indian Hills Elementary School | Salt Lake City School District